Personified


 

Some days it is just good enough to be whatever it is you are. An editor, a dog walker, a speech therapist. Some other days it might be better to be the tool and not the operator of the tool. I’d like to be a pencil. Sharp, focused, correctible. Authoritative and yet open to revision. A pencil might suit me well. I might also like to be a drum. Round, tight, silent except when called to service – the drum has a voice, a ritual meaning, transcendentalist habits, a rhythm in the belly, rhythm all the way to the souls of the feet. I could be a drum. I could also be a thief, stealing moments, eavesdropping on the lives and whispers of strangers and friends. I could be a thief without jewels, lifting the unvalued, leaving no fingerprints. I could be a window, looking out on everything, cold and clear and just. I could be a rug, honest and flat, unemotional, willing to wear dirt, willing to be shaken in the open air.  I might be a pet rock, a solid chunk of marketing sitting on a shelf, in a box, in a garage, in someone’s grandmother’s house. I could be an ice cube, temporary, cool, transient. Put me on your eyes, put me in your gin and tonic, put me anywhere absolution is needed and I will handle it for you. I might be a bowl, hugging those things that shouldn’t go flying off unattended. Your keys. Your pennies. Your yogurt. Your soup. Rely on me – I am a bowl. I could be a piece of paper. Lined, unlined. Blank, full. Waiting, smooth or crushed, for whatever comes next.

2 Responses to “Personified”


  1. 1 eliza keating September 7, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Great post..I’d like to be my own kitchen table..solid,reliable..a place my kids played games on,done their homework..a place I hae sweated buckets trying to write…a place I have cried apon on sadder days…a place were we all meet and share…..aahh that was so nice..ELiza Keating

  2. 2 Teresa September 7, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Thanks! Needs a picture of a bowl. Tomorrow, maybe. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 165,111 hits

Archives

Categories

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

