What I have been thinking about is . . .


I have been thinking about sleep, and thinking.

I have been thinking about my broken toenail, which is very distracting, and which I am not easily distracted from.

I have been thinking about money.

I have been thinking about time.

I have been thinking about vacuum cleaners and broken dryers, and dry wells, and deep wells.

I have been thinking about time and money.

I have been thinking about travel.

I have been thinking about Vienna, and Toronto, and Midland, and Seattle. I have been thinking about time and taking time off work, and about money.

I have been thinking about sleep. I have been thinking about sleeping.

I have been thinking about time and anniversaries and retirement and writing.

I have been thinking about time.

I have been thinking about people.

I have been thinking about brothers and lovers and people who are gone now
from me but not necessary gone as in gone.

I have been thinking about faces and people and time and history
personal, local, regional, global.

I have been thinking about countries and boundaries and mysteries and the shifting of meaning and how that makes people free or not free safe or not safe and how free or not free safe or not safe is not the same as happy or not happy passionate or not passionate and how some of the greatest passions have happened in times of no freedom no safety and I have been thinking about

Housecleaning and vacuum cleaner bags and online shopping

And freeways and fresh eggs and dictionaries and how certain words are in some dictionaries but not others.

I have been thinking about singing, and moving, and rolling on the floor and reaching in all directions like a story about a man facing west and then turning in all the four ways.

I have been thinking about reaching and there is a star and a golden ring and the shadow of my hand reaching and then it is cold and warm, and then I have been thinking about sleep and time and water and air.

3 Responses to “What I have been thinking about is . . .”


  1. 1 Davinder March 3, 2009 at 8:52 am

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

  2. 2 blueprint4ndbeauty March 25, 2009 at 10:59 am

    That’s nice…and I don’t mean nice in that insipid sort of way. It really us nice. Comforting in its mundane repetition of the everyday thoughts, the banal things, then into thoughts that have depth and consequence – and when you return to the banal thoughts, it contrasts the deep ones, like light and dark, clearly delineating the difference.

  3. 3 Teresa March 25, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Thank you, Blueprint. I just reread it with your comments in mind; it has a sort of diving quality, doesn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 165,147 hits

Archives

Categories

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

