Cranes


I spent the weekend not getting caught up, with my box of writing sitting at my feet, reproaching me. Doing paperwork for my private practice. Blah.

So instead of fiction, I thought I would just stop by for 30 seconds to say how fabulous is the migration of the sandhill cranes here along the Rio Grande.  I was out excavating my trunk on Saturday and the sky was full of the sound of them, churring and kuttling noises, beautiful, and they were up so high — hundreds of them, all mustered together to take roll and start the trip up to Canada. Fantastic. No photos to share, though, they were just little dots up there in the blue sky. I need a better camera. I also need more time to write.

And here is a photo, by Thomas O’Neil, from Wikipedia:

5 Responses to “Cranes”


  1. 1 Lollyloo February 12, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Why don’t you post a certain highly-romantic crane poem? After all, ’tis the season?

  2. 2 truce February 13, 2007 at 4:42 am

    You’ve got to love birds. Every time I see one launch itself into the air I think “I wonder how that feels?”.

  3. 3 Teresa February 14, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Power, grace and freedom. Seems like a good life, doesn’t it?

  4. 4 laverneandshirley February 14, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    We have pelicans where I live. Sometimes there are a flock of them soaring in the air. Beautiful.
    –L

  5. 5 Teresa February 14, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    There were pelicans galore in Mazatlan, and amazing storks in Kampala. Huge prehistoric birds, roosting in mango trees. Birds just stun me, large and small. We had big snow here today, the Russian olives were full of redwing blackbirds, yelling about the unexpected weather. Funny beasts.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 165,188 hits

Archives

Categories

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

