A pat on the back


pat on back

Here was my plan: start this blog (improvisational shorts only), write every day, finish stuff, be organized about editing and submitting.

So far: little bits here a couple of times a week, writing in groups, a little at home, some editing.  

Hmm. Not really finishing. Still not submitting. Nothing since June. The SASE never even came back. That did not help.

I like Cuentas, it serves a real purpose for me and is motivational. Maybe I have a fear of envelopes and stamps? Of editors? Of hard work?

In my always active fantasy life, I am kind of like Grace Paley and Robert Olen Butler, Margaret Atwood, Mary Oliver, with maybe a dash of the beat boys too, but still recognizably me. Do/did they have day jobs?  I guess it’s about discipline.

On the other hand, I am writing more now than in recent years. It was an effort to reorient from my time in alternative theater to words on paper (anorexic drama queens rolling on the floor with videos of ghastly world events superimposed on their bony bodies — gah!!). dancer But writing for performance and marginal theater companies was always more about sound than meaning, since reflecting on the content was secondary to the visceral (gah!) live experience. Definitely valid, but not sustainable for me, personally.

So I commend myself for surviving (that was harder than I can say), for beginning again, for relocating my sense of humor and allowing the sorrow to have its moments.

Normal Vincent PealeNow all I need to do is get out the stamps and the envelopes and keep going. Pretty cheery, eh?

 

 

     

“Tomorrow is another day.”

2 Responses to “A pat on the back”


  1. 1 truce October 11, 2006 at 5:37 am

    Huge pat on the back to you from England and the periphery of the book publishing world (I’m involved in illustrating books, not writing or publishing them or I’d snap Cuentas up in a flash!). And yes, get those stamps out and try. Editors aren’t bad people – some of them even know what they’re talking about and might be able to help you on your creative journey. Enjoy!

  2. 2 Teresa October 11, 2006 at 8:38 am

    Thanks! I was deflated by not getting even my SASE back — momentum is a quirky thing. I do think things will move if I persist, though.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 165,202 hits

Archives

Categories

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

